The world's scientific and social network for malaria professionals
Subscribe to free Newsletter | 11149 malaria professionals are enjoying the free benefits of MalariaWorld today

CLOSED - Event: Global Excellence Research Symposium II “New Wine in old Bottles and Old Wine in new Bottles”

September 19, 2019 - 17:23 -- MalariaWorld Events

Past, present and future use of antimalarial and other drugs in the control of malaria: applications and dilemmas

Time: 16 October, 13:00 - 18 October, 12:00
Place: Holst Auditorium, Panum Institute, Blegdamsvej 3B, 2200 Copenhagen
Organizer: CMP, KU

Participation in this symposium is free, but you will be expected to pay for and arrange your own accomodation. There is a limited capacity; first come, first served!

Register for this symposium!

Celebrating the 25 Year Anniversary of Centre for Medical Parasitology

Antimalarial drugs, their use and abuse, resistance to them, and how to detect it are all long-standing research interests at CMP.

The aim of this symposium is to discuss old and new ways of applying the tools that are available, and not least new ideas for malaria control that would mitigate against the rapid development of drug resistance in a context of no highly effective vaccine being available.

List of confirmed speakers

  • Dr. Samir Bhatt (Imperial College London)
  • Professor Anders Björkman (Karolinska Institute, Sweden)
  • Dr. Carlos Chaccour (Barcelona Institute for Global Health, Spain)
  • Professor Sian Clarke (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK)
  • Dr. Deus Ishengoma (Tanga Centre of The National Institute for Medical Research, Tanzania)
  • Professor Poul Erik Lund Kofoed (University of Southern Denmark)
  • Dr. Anthony Mbonye (Ministry of Health, Uganda)
  • Dr. Douglas Paton (Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, USA)
  • Dr. Charlotte Rasmussen (WHO, Denmark)
  • Professor Cally Roper (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK)
  • Professor Colin Sutherland (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK)
  • Professor Harry Tagbor (University of Health and Allied Sciences, Ghana)
  • Professor Feiko ter Kuile (Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK)
  • Dr. Johan Ursing (Karolinska Institute, Sweden)
  • Professor Jean-Pierre van Geertryden (University of Antwerpen, Belgium)
  • Dr. Lasse Vestergaard (WHO, SSI, Denmark)

For more information visit the symposium website. For questions, please contact Conference Coordinator Helle Hansson,

Register for this symposium

PDF icon CMP_anniversary_symposium.pdf333.33 KB